Chocolate Coffee Protein Smoothie

Happy Monday friends!

Can you believe September is coming to an end? This month has flown by for me. I feel like I blinked and all of a sudden summer was over and now I’m living in a whirlwind of school, soccer and volunteering. I’ve been doing my very best to keep my cool and not stress, eat well, get good sleeps and still have fun along the way! If you’re trying to do the same, check out my tips to becoming a healthier, fitter student.

Last week I had an away game on Thursday night and we didn’t arrive back home until very late that night. I had a 9 o’clock class Friday morning so I knew I was going to need a quick, energizing breakfast. Now whenever we brew coffee and there’s some left over, I usually put it in a cup in the fridge for iced coffees in the afternoon or the following day. When I woke on Friday I knew I had some leftover brew so I had the brilliant idea of adding it to my smoothie to really wake me up!

And what do I love even more than coffee? Chocolate! So why not mix the best of both worlds? This smoothie tastes like one of those frozen cafe mochas that you can get in the summertime at coffee shops. The best part is that it’s packed with protein to help you feel full until lunch and the cacao powder has health-promoting antioxidants. Score!

IMG_6864

IMG_6866

Chocolate Coffee Protein Smoothie

Ingredients:

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 tbsp raw cacao/cocoa powder
  • 1 scoop vanilla or chocolate protein powder (I like to use the plant-based Perfect Fit or Vega brands)
  • 1/4 cup low-fat, low-sodium cottage cheese (If you’re a cottage cheese hater I’m sure Greek yogurt would do just fine, but I promise when you blend it you can’t even tell the cottage cheese is there.)
  • 1 cup chilled coffee
  • Optional: 1/2 cup ice, hint of stevia, honey or pure maple syrup if you want it sweeter, cacao nibs to sprinkle on top.

Directions:

Place all ingredients in a blender on high. Sprinkle with cacao nibs if you have them.

Enjoy!

Have a great week and thanks for reading,

xo Hannah

One thought on “Chocolate Coffee Protein Smoothie

Leave a Reply

