Tips to Detoxify & Debloat

Wow, what a weekend!
I don’t know about you, but I’m feeling twenty-two I could use a nap or two. This past weekend I was over in Prince Edward Island for the Cavendish Beach Country Music Festival. The festival easily makes for the best weekend of my summer every year. Country music, camping, friends and a few (too many) drinks really can’t be beat.

This is what you get when two guys get to camp with two girls.. #stuff
This is what you get when two guys get to camp with two girls.. #stuff

10440692_10152576460740030_479159228754235001_n

The only problem this time around was Arthur. If you’re anywhere along the East Coast of Canada or the United States I’m sure you know who I’m talking about. Hurricane Arthur. Yep, I survived camping in a hurricane. Might as well ship me off to be on Survivor now. Unfortunately, the storm caused the entire festival lineup for Saturday to be cancelled. What a bummer eh? Add that on to the fact that it was about 10 degrees Celsius and raining. I was not a happy camper – pun intended.

So other than not getting to see Blake Shelton (still crying), Darius Rucker (hearing Wagon Wheel live would have made my life) and a few others, the weekend was an all-around great time. We saw Lady Antebellum on Friday night and then Dean Brody and Hunter Hayes on Sunday. Yes, it’s true, Hunter Hayes is EVEN HOTTER in person. Drool.

10540405_10152576454865030_4039224706005218689_n

10407178_10152576455620030_1099871450382684725_n

10366250_10152576458450030_8182975445104259717_n

This weekend was super awesome and it always is, but not so awesome health-wise. Excess alcohol, packaged foods and lack of sleep doesn’t make for the flattest, healthiest tummy (Side note: If you happened to experience the  “Freshman Fifteen” those were probably a few of the causes).  I’m honestly not too worried about it, I wasn’t going to spend my weekend counting calories, worrying about everything bad I ate and in turn not enjoy myself. The vast majority of the time, my diet looks nothing like what it did this weekend so I knew it was perfectly okay to indulge myself and fully enjoy the beep out of this weekend. It only comes once a year! 🙂

10527476_10152576456385030_8585890436797019431_n

10421299_10152576457175030_2082107323062457813_n

And now I am fully experiencing the aftermath. I went to bed at 8:30 pm last night and woke up for work feeling like I got two hours of sleep instead of nine. I feel bloated, lethargic and my stomach is all out of whack. Heck, my entire system is all out of whack. When I woke up this morning, I knew it was time for a detox.

And that is exactly why I’m going to share my favourite detox tips with you all. If you, like me, had an indulgent week/weekend..maybe a few too many drinks, too many snacky foods, or in my case a few too many marshmallows and are now feeling like one giant marshmallow..look no further. Following these tips will help you reboot your system, your energy levels and help you feel a lot less marshmallow-y. If you give these tips a try, let me know what you think!

Tips to Detoxify & Debloat:

  1. Drink lots of water. Water is your best detox friend, I promise. Believe it or not, our bodies are made up of mostly water. Drinking at least 8 glasses of water a day will help flush out your body of unwanted toxins, reduce bloat and just all together make you feel better.
  2. Incorporate Lemon. Lemons have metabolism boosting powers and they help your body return to it’s proper acid-alkaline balance (neutralizes the pH levels). When you have an indulgent period or consistently don’t eat properly, your body’s acid-alkaline (base) balance can become altered, typically becoming more acidic. Try having a hot cup of lemon water (squeeze a lemon in to the water) in the morning for a hydrating, metabolism boosting start to your day. Or squeeze a lemon over salad for a healthy, low-cal dressing.
  3. Alkaline Foods. As I just said, when you aren’t treating your body with the proper nutrition it needs, your acid-base balance becomes not-so-balanced. Eating alkaline foods such as cucumber, celery, broccoli, and spinach will help raise your body’s pH levels, bringing that balance back.
  4. Go Caffeine-Free. I know this is a tough one for many, but to help detox your system try cutting out the acidic substance caffeine completely, or at least stick to just one cup in the morning. If you’re used to having a hot drink in the morning try herbal tea, or the hot lemon water I suggested.
  5. No Alcohol. Part of the reason you’re detoxing may be highly likely from excess amounts of alcohol (guilty). You’re trying to flush the toxins out right? Keep away from alcohol for however long you plan on detoxing your body. For me it’s about a week.
  6. Limit Meat & Dairy Consumption. If you can, try to limit meat and dairy products. Stick to plant-based foods as they are the most recognizable by your body and can digest the easiest.
  7. Slash The Sugar Intake. No processed, refined sugar. Realistically, this is a good goal for your every day diet..so it’s even more important to stay away from added sugar when you’re trying to detoxify your body.
  8. Exercise. Getting (back) into a workout routine is crucial when you’re trying to reset & reboot your metabolism. No matter how sluggish you may feel, I promise you it’ll help you to feel better in the next day or two. Exercising will rev up your metabolism and sweating helps you get rid of toxins in your body.
  9. Micronutrients. I’m sure that if you had a crazy weekend like me drinking alcohol and eating BBQ camping food, your vitamin & mineral intake wasn’t exactly through the roof. Replenish your body with the essential micronutrients by sticking with plant-based foods. Vegetables, dark greens, fruits, legumes and whole grains are the way to go. If you want extra, try incorporating superfoods like Wheatgrass or Spirulina to things like smoothies & soups.
  10. Rest. In order to reboot your system (your body..not your Macbook) you need to get proper sleep. That’s exactly what I didn’t get this weekend and I couldn’t be more excited to catch up on my sleep this week.

IMG_3185 Bella’s just as sleepy as I am.

I hope you find these tips helpful and they make you feel cleansed, reenergized and healthy once again. Thanks for reading. 🙂

Hannah

Leave a Reply

