Life Update + Chocolate Peanut Butter Smoothie Bowl

Hey friends! Miss me?

First off – I hope you’re all having a fabulous holiday season filled with love, scrumptious food and hopefully some relaxation.

I know it’s been a while, let me just say that with everything that has been going on in my life (finals, working, applying for Dietetic Internships, spending time with loved ones over the Holidays…), blogging has definitely taken the back seat. If you follow me on Instagram, you’ll know I’ve still been active there – although still, not nearly as active as I would like.

I hate to say this, but sometimes when you’re a twenty-something student with an insane schedule, the things you once loved to do in your spare time start to feel like a chore. As sad as it is, the past few months I began developing those feelings towards blogging. I rarely had the time to create and test new recipes, and even when I did I really didn’t feel like sitting down and typing up a post about it.

Well, good news! After a bit of a break, some relaxation time over the holidays (although not much..I’m serious my life is non-stop) and interaction with some inspiring individuals, I’m ready to get back into it!

…And what better way to do so than by posting a yummy new recipe?!

Santa was very good to me this year. Aaaand so were my parents (hehe). For Christmas, my mom and dad surprised me with a Vitamix blender! For one, I was really in need of a new blender. For two, I had been wanting a Vitamix for quite some time now. Thanks mom and dad!!!

In lieu of getting a new blender, I obviously had to make a smoothie the first chance I got. So I whipped up a creamy, chocolatey smoothie bowl and let me tell you, it honestly could have been mistaken for chocolate soft-serve. It was that good. One thing that would make it even more like ice cream would be less liquid or more banana, so feel free to play around with the ingredients!

  

Chocolate Peanut Butter Smoothie Bowl:

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana, frozen
  • 1 tbsp raw cacao powder (you can use cocoa powder if you don’t have cacao)
  • 1 scoop plant-based vanilla protein powder – I use PerfectFit or Vega brands
  • about 1/4-1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk (depending how thick you like your smoothies/how powerful your blender is)
  • toppings like granola, cacao nibs, shredded coconut, more banana, etc.

Directions:

Blend all ingredients in a blender. Pour into a bowl and top as you please!

Question(s) of the Day: What did Santa bring you for Christmas this year? What’s your favourite holiday treat?

Thanks for reading and check back soon for more 🙂

Xo,

Han

 

 

Leave a Reply

