Happy New Year!

new-year-resolutions

Hello all!!

I am terribly sorry for my absence of a solid month and a half. My life has just been so busy since I returned home from Alberta mid-November. Final projects piled up, I started back at work and then finals were right there staring me in the face.

Unknown

Once that was all over it was Christmas break! I figured I’d hop back on the ol’ blog train when I had some free time but my break has been just about as busy. My time has been consumed with holiday shopping, working and spending time visiting with friends & family. Truthfully, when I finally got some down time from all of the festive activities, the last thing I felt like doing was hopping on my laptop to write. The holidays are a blast, but I never realized how exhausting they can be as well!

That being said, I’m back. I’m rested up, I’ve refuelled (chocolate-style) and I’m ready to bring you guys some awesomely delicious healthy recipes in 2015 – but before that, what kind of blogger would I be if I didn’t write a post about New Years Resolutions?

Some hate them, and some rejoice them every time the New Year rolls around. I’ve never really had a strong opinion on New Years Resolutions. Yes, I make them every year and even write them down on pretty paper with pretty pens to supposedly demonstrate their significance. But to be honest, I can’t even remember where I put that list of resolutions nor can I remember what those resolutions were. I’m sure many of you can relate.

Regardless of whether or not I stick to my resolutions, I still have fun brainstorming and making that list of things I want to do or improve upon in the upcoming year. So what the heck? Here are my 2015 New Years Resolutions:

1. Read at least 1 book per month (NOT including class textbooks). I LOVE reading and aspire to be well-read, I’ve just tended to look to my laptop, my phone or the television when I get some down time. Instead, this year, I’ll pick up a book.

2. “Live a life you’d like to read about” is my motto for 2015. Too many evenings I opt for my couch and Netflix over potential new friends and experiences. I love my life but there’s always room for adventures!

3. Run a half marathon. In 2014, I trained for two half marathons and ran zero half marathons. The first one didn’t occur due to a pure lack of time management when final exams rolled around in April. The second one didn’t happen because I developed achilles tendonitis because I was over exerting myself trying to manage both soccer season and the final weeks of marathon training. So as long as my achilles agrees with me, 2015 will be the year for my first half marathon.

What is your opinion on New Years Resolutions? And if you’re for them, have you made any for 2015? Let me know in the comments!

I hope you all have a wonderful New Years Day. I can’t wait to share some great recipes with you all this year! Check back soon for the recipe for one of my fave dishes ever 🙂

Much love,

Hannah

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. I think new years resolutions are great, but you should never be afraid to start a resolution in the middle of the year. Its always a good time to make a change or start something new! I did make a few resolutions for 2015 though. Like you, I want to read more even though I’m graduate student and will be working part time. 2 books/month is my goal. My other main goal is to run my first marathon!

Leave a Reply

