October Pumpkin Series: Pumpkin & Butternut Squash Soup

Who doesn’t love a warm, creamy soup on a crisp October day?

DSC_1014

This recipe is sure to comfort you for lunch on a chilly fall day or warm you right up at suppertime after school or work one autumn evening. Not only is it creamy, delicious and bursting with nutritional content – it’s bright orange colour matches perfectly with the leaves this season. So pretty!

DSC_1015

And with ingredients like pumpkin, squash, and apple this soup just screams fall. I bet right now you’re picturing yourself curled up on the sofa, wearing your favourite chunky knit sweater eating this soup while the crimson and burnt orange leaves blow around in the chilly autumn wind outside.

Well, that’s exactly what I was doing at lunchtime this afternoon. And I will do it again, and again and again until all the leaves have hit the ground and snowflakes begin to replace them on the trees. Please guys, embrace fall and it’s wonderful flavors with me. It’s the most beautiful season and I’m loving every single minute of it.

DSC_1013

Except maybe for the fact that my schedule is insane, the work never ends and I have to try ever so hard daily to not let the stress of it all overcome me.

Well – that story sure took a harsh turn, huh? But the good news is, I don’t. I don’t let the stress overcome me. I prioritize my school work, I manage my time and I get it done. It may require a few late nights, many early mornings and a coffee a day but I can do it. And I won’t let the stress get to me. I know it’s not good for me and I know that regardless of how much I have going on in my life at this moment (like a week and a half deadline to finish 4 assignments and write an exam to pass a course along with midterms in two other courses…deep breaths, deep breaths) I have to enjoy my life and not let a day go by that I didn’t live it happily and enjoyably. That’s why I cozy up and eat my soup – because you have to find that something positive in every day.

Now you, too can enjoy your warm autumn soup. Let it bring you comfort and brighten your day.

DSC_1017

Pumpkin & Butternut Squash Soup:

  • 1 medium butternut squash
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 yellow onion, diced
  • 2 medium carrots, chopped
  • 1 medium apple, diced
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp allspice
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 3 cups low sodium vegetable broth
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 tbsp pure maple syrup

Directions:

  1. Cut squash in half. Brush with olive oil. Roast butternut squash face-down on a baking sheet for 40-50 minutes at 400 degrees F until tender. Let cool.
  2. In a pot, heat oil and add onion, apple, carrots and spices. Cook about 15 minutes until soft.
  3. Add squash, pumpkin, veggie broth and applesauce. Bring to a boil then lower heat and let simmer for 20 minutes stirring occasionally.
  4. After 20 minutes, remove from heat and add milk and maple syrup. Use an immersion blender or regular blender to puree the soup. Serve immediately or refrigerate to store. Makes 6-7 servings.

Guess what I’m off to do? You got er.. homework!

Have a lovely week,

Hannah xo

One thought on “October Pumpkin Series: Pumpkin & Butternut Squash Soup

Leave a Reply

