Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

This dish is one of my lunch time favourites during the work week. It’s simple, easy to make, clean and so yummy. Usually by Friday I’m sick of my what I’ve packed for lunch because I’ve been eating close to the same meal for 5 days straight. But I don’t have that problem with this dish.

IMG_3081

Let’s talk nutrition for a sec. This salad is perfect because it incorporates so many things that we need daily in our diets! We’ve got our quinoa which is a whole grain and a complete protein. Then cucumber, tomato and onion – we all know how important getting those 7-8 servings of vegetables per day are. And finally the olive oil in the dressing provides us healthy fats. It’s perfect! It keeps me energized and full so that I can focus on my work without my tummy growling or feeling tired.

What I recommend doing is cooking up a large batch of this salad on Sunday and packing it up as needed. If you’re vegan, you can just omit the feta cheese and it will be good to go. Make this and you’ll have a weeks worth of nutritious, delicious lunches. Win!

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad:

1&1/4 cup uncooked quinoa of your choice – 3/4 large cucumber – 25 grape tomatoes – 1/4 of a red onion – 3 inch cube feta cheese – 5 tbsp balsamic vinegar – 1&1/2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

  1. Cook quinoa and let cool. Chop up veggies and feta.
  2. Mix veggies & feta into quinoa. Add vinegar and olive oil. Mix
  3. Store in fridge and portion out as needed. Makes 5 servings.

I like to eat mine over a big bed of spinach. Extra greens!!! Yum yum.

That’s all for now, finish your weeks strong!

Hannah

2 thoughts on “Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

Leave a Reply

