Spicy Sweet Potato Oven-Fries

Happy Friday!

Right now I’m not very pleased. I had a whole blog post typed up and my internet got all messed up and I lost the WHOLE post. Not happy.

Deep breaths, deep breaths. Let’s start over.

I hope you all had a lovely, low-stress week! It is another dreary, rainy day here in Nova Scotia but what else is new? Before I get to sharing one of my favourite recipes, let me recap the last few days for you.

Yesterday I was feeling a little under the weather. I can thank my boyfriend and his “man cold” for that one. I planned on getting up and working out but as soon as I woke up and felt I had a sore throat and the snuffles – not to mention the extreme difficulty to roll out of bed -I knew it would be a rest day for this chick. The worst thing you can do for yourself when you’re sick is work out! When I played competitive/university soccer and I got a bad cold I had no choice but to go to my practices/games anyways. Then the next day I would feel even worse than I did before! When you’re sick, your body needs to focus it’s energy on battling the sickness not repairing muscle or cooling itself down after a workout. I know for some (like myself) it may be difficult to accept not being able to work out for a day or two but your body will thank you!

So, when I managed to drag my butt out of bed the first thing I did was take a hot shower then make a big green smoothie! I packed it with spinach, celery, cucumber, a small orange, half a banana, pineapple, chia seeds and almond milk. I’m not lying, I instantly started to feel better! I spent the rest of the day just chilling around the house and guess what?! Today I feel amazing! No more cold for me. Yesterday I gave my body exactly what it needed – rest and lots of micronutrients – and it paid off.

That being said, today when I woke up knowing that I’d be going out tonight for a friend’s birthday celebration, I knew I needed a good butt-kicking workout. So off to the gym I went with my sister. And when I left I was drenched in sweat! I did an intense 20 minute interval workout on the Stairmaster, then 20 minutes on the treadmill followed by a core workout and a few sets of pushups to finish it off. Success! Now I won’t feel as bad about all that wine I’m about to drink tonight :). (I don’t drink very often – balance people.)

I’ve wanted to share this recipe for a little while now, because sweet potato is one of my absolute favourite foods. I love anything sweet potato! I even tried to incorporate ‘sweet potato’ into my blog name when I was brainstorming.

And who doesn’t like fries? You know you do. Even better, who doesn’t like sweet potato fries?! The real-deal sweet potato fries are my guiltiest of a guilty pleasure. If I’m going out for a treat and the restaurant I’m at has them on the menu, you know I’m ordering up a plate of those bad boys. Note: I said “If I’m going out for a treat” – I definitely don’t eat them all the time. But I do eat my own version of sweet potato fries about once a week. They’re that good. And good for you. This version is not fried, has next to no saturated fat, has less sodium and is super tasty! Enjoy!

Spicy Sweet Potato Oven-Fries:

IMG_2924

1 medium sweet potato – 1 tbsp olive oil – 1 tsp Sriracha hot sauce – 1/2 tsp paprika – 1/2 tsp black pepper – a couple shakes of salt

1. Preheat oven to 400. Wash sweet potato.

2. Cut sweet potato in half. Then cut into “fries” about 2 inches long, 1/2 inch wide and 1/4 inch thick.

3. Place fries in a medium bowl and toss in olive oil. Add spices & hot sauce and toss again.

4. Spray baking sheet with olive oil (or brush it on if you don’t have an olive oil spray-bottle). Spread fries onto baking sheet. Make sure none of them are piled on top of one another or they won’t be crispy. Bake for 20 mins. Serve right away.

I hope you love them as much as I do! I like to dip my sweet potato oven fries in Skotidakis Jalapeno Greek Yogurt Dip. Yum!

Have a good weekend guys! Bye for now!

Hannah

One thought on “Spicy Sweet Potato Oven-Fries

Leave a Reply

