Bursting Blueberry Chia Muffins

First of all, happy Friday y’all.

Woo, that rhymed.

It’s Friday evening and I’m sitting here eating a giant bowl of scrumptious strawberries after just cleaning up my mess of a kitchen. Why was my kitchen a mess? Because I was cooking of course! But before we get to the lovely goods I baked up today I’m going to recap my Friday, because it was a pretty great Friday.

I started out my day with some hot water with lemon and a breakfast sandwich I made with two slices of Ezekiel toast, one egg, cheese, spinach and tomato. It was great. The hot water with lemon is something that I’ve just gotten in the habit of drinking. I love tea – especially green tea – and I usually start out my morning with that but lately I’m loving the piping hot lemony water. It tastes just like Neocitran! I love Neocitran – you know, that stuff your mom used to give me you to drink before bed when you were sick? Anyone? Just me? Whatever. Anyway, since I clearly can’t drink Neocitran on the daily, this drink reminds me of just that :).

Since it was a beautiful day out, after breakfast my boyfriend Patrick and I set out for a trail run just a short drive away from my house. It was awesome! I can’t get over how much more I love trail running than road running. The scenery is just so much more beautiful – not to mention trail running is easier on the joints.

IMG_2897 Here’s me after the run. All smiles!

After our run, we wanted a little Friday treat because it’s perfectly alright to treat yourself once in a while! We went to a coffee shop called Two If By Sea. It was my first time there, and it was great! The spot is known for its buttery treats and frothy espresso drinks so I was prepared to only order a Cappuccino (my favourite) but when my boyfriend suggested an Almond Croissant I couldn’t resist. And I didn’t regret it one bit.

IMG_2885 Our Friday afternoon treat 🙂

IMG_2883 A close up of the croissant..

We left feeling very satisfied, I can tell you that. When I returned from the run/coffee date I was in the mood to bake! I came across a Blueberry Muffin recipe recently and that inspired me to do a little recipe redux and make my own healthy batch of them! They were a little bit crumbly, but here is what I came up with:

Bursting Blueberry Chia Muffins!

IMG_2892

I call them ‘bursting’ because the blueberries were so big and some of them literally burst in your mouth when you take a bite. Yum :). I also wanted to add a little more nutritional value to these babies so why not add some Chia seeds? People add poppy seeds to muffins all the time so I thought why not. Chia seeds are a superfood that pack quite the nutritional punch. These little guys are a great source of fibre and omega-3’s and they’re super easy to incorporate into recipes. You can add them to smoothies, salads, baked goods, oatmeal..the list goes on!

So, voila! My first blog recipe.

Bursting Blueberry Chia Muffins:

1 cup almond milk – 1 tsp vinegar – 1/2 cup coconut oil – 1/2 tsp stevia – 1/3 cup plain (or vanilla) nonfat greek yogurt* – 1 tsp vanilla extract – 2 cups Bob’s Red Mill brown rice flour – 2 tsp baking powder – 1/2 tsp baking soda – 1/2 tsp salt – 1 & 1/2 cups blueberries – 1/8 cup chia seeds

*Note: If vegan, you can use applesauce instead of yogurt. You just need some bulk in the recipe since there’s no sugar – just stevia.

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Line muffin tin with cupcake liners.

2. In a liquid measuring cup, mix almond milk and vinegar. Then, in a small bowl mix together coconut oil and stevia. Add vanilla and mix together until creamy.

3. In a larger bowl. Mix together dry ingredients (flour, baking powder&soda, salt).  Add the liquid ingredients and the oil mix into the dry ingredients and stir together until just mixed. With muffins, you do not want to over-mix! Fold in blueberries and chia seeds.

4. Bake at 350 for 15-20 minutes. Make sure that a toothpick/cake tester comes out clean when you remove the muffins from the oven. Allow muffins to cool. Serve right away or store for later.

Ta daaaaa!!!

IMG_2894

IMG_2895

Yummy in my tummy! And healthy! And gluten free! Party!!

To close on a funny note: here’s a photo of my doggie, Bella literally barking a squirrel up a tree. What a goofball.

IMG_2878 You can see here there on the right hand side..

Bye for now!

Hannah

One thought on “Bursting Blueberry Chia Muffins

Leave a Reply

